01303 260003
Open today 8:30am – 7pm

Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons Practice Standards Scheme

An ‘Outstanding’ RCVS Vet Practice in Hythe

Hythe Veterinary Centre are members of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons Practice Standards Scheme

The RCVS Practice Standards Scheme (PSS) is a voluntary initiative to accredit veterinary practices in the UK.

Through setting standards and carrying out regular assessments, the Scheme aims to promote and maintain the highest standards of veterinary care.

It offers peace of mind to clients of accredited practices and a more informed choice to the animal-owning public.

To become accredited, practices volunteer for rigorous assessment every four years and will have met a range of minimum standards including hygiene, staff training, certain types of equipment and cost estimation procedures.

Practices are also subject to spot-checks between assessments.

We have achieved Small Animal General Practice status – the only practice in Hythe to have this.


Outstanding Results

In addition to existing accreditations, we have gone further to demonstrate the specific areas of practice in which we excel through achieving OUTSTANDING results in two optional Practice Standards Scheme awards. That makes us the only practice in the Folkestone and Hythe District and one of only two practices in Kent that have achieved 2 or more outstanding awards, WHOOP FOR US!

These awards can help animal owners identify where each practice excels and the skills and services it offers, allowing owners to make a choice based on their needs and preferences.

With the awards, there is more emphasis on the factors which impact the standards of the service offered by a veterinary practice. This highlights the huge variety of excellence in a way the general public can understand and offer a pathway for improvement for those practices who aspire for excellence in certain areas.

The awards demonstrate where practices provide services above and beyond the stringent standards of accreditation.


Award 1: Team and Professional Responsibility

Awarding cohesive and responsible teams
The Team and Professional Responsibility Award allows practices to demonstrate that they have systems in place to make sure that the welfare and safety of staff are paramount and that their knowledge and training is kept up-to-date. Furthermore, it also recognises the practice staff’s dedication to taking responsibility for areas that impact on the level of service offered to clients and patients, such as clinical governance, practice hygiene, record-keeping and prescription and medicines services.


Award 2: Client Service

Awarding excellence in customer experience
The Client Service Award is given to practices who demonstrate high levels of care for their clients. This award comprises only one module, Client Experience, encompassing practical and behavioural steps that practices can take to improve Client Service.